regional municipalities, one district municipality, 27 counties and regional districts. There are 45 cities including the five boroughs of Metropolitan Toronto, 144 towns, 120 villages, 476 townships and 13 improvement districts. The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, in existence since January 1954, encompasses one city and five boroughs and is responsible for assessments, police, water supply, sewerage, metropolitan road systems and planning. The regional municipalities of Durham, Haldimand-Norfolk, Halton, Hamilton-Wentworth, Niagara, Ottawa-Carleton, Peel, Sudbury, Waterloo and York have replaced county administrations and assumed certain responsibilities over all municipalities within their boundaries. The District Municipality of Muskoka was incorporated in January 1971 to assume responsibilities, similar to those of the regional municipalities, over the reorganized municipalities of the former district of Muskoka. This form of regional government is contemplated in other areas. Each county, although an incorporated municipality, comprises the towns (with the exception of five separated towns), villages and townships within it. Some municipalities are located outside the counties in areas called districts. These districts in Western and Northern Ontario are not municipal entities.

Toronto, the capital of Ontario, had been the capital of Upper Canada before Confederation. Hamilton is the second largest incorporated city in Ontario, followed in population size by Ottawa, the national capital.

Manitoba has five cities, 35 towns, 40 villages and 105 rural municipalities. There are also 18 local government districts which perform the same general functions as municipalities. They are administered by administrators who act, in most districts, on the advice of elected councils, but are subject to the final authority of the minister of municipal affairs.

In Manitoba, the capital city of Winnipeg and 11 surrounding municipalities, after 12 years under the partial central authority of the Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg, were amalgamated into a single city in January 1972.

Saskatchewan has 11 cities, 135 towns, 346 villages and 299 rural municipalities. The area so organized consists of most of the southern part of the province, the remainder of this portion being administered by the province through 10 unincorporated local improvement districts. The northern part is sparsely populated and some municipal services are provided by the province through the operation of the Northern Administration District.

Regina, the capital, is the largest city in Saskatchewan, and Saskatoon is second.

Alberta has 11 cities, 107 towns, 167 villages, 18 municipal districts and 30 counties. The counties administer schools in addition to municipal services. There are 21 improvement districts and three special areas administered by the Special Areas Board.

Edmonton, the capital, was incorporated in 1904. Calgary was founded in 1875 by the mounted police and incorporated as a city in 1893.

British Columbia. In 1967, the government of British Columbia instituted regional government. By January 1972, 28 regional districts had been established. These regional districts are assuming responsibility for certain services from municipalities within their boundaries as well as providing services to previously unorganized areas. There are 33 cities, 11 towns, 58 villages and 38 districts. Districts are mostly rural although some adjacent to the principal cities of Vancouver and Victoria are largely urban in character. Unincorporated local districts have been set up to provide certain municipal services.

Victoria, the capital, on the southeastern tip of Vancouver Island, was incorporated in 1862. The largest city, Vancouver, was incorporated in 1886.

Yukon. There are two cities, one town and five local improvement districts. The local improvement districts, although incorporated, are developmental forms of local government. Whitehorse became the capital in April 1953 when the seat of government was moved from Dawson City.

Northwest Territories includes one city, four towns, two villages and 20 hamlets. The hamlets, although incorporated, are developmental forms of local government. Yellowknife on the north arm of Great Slave Lake was named the capital in 1967.